engine and gearbox removal?

Radders

Hi all.

I need some advice.

I'm in the process of removing a blown engine (and gearbox) from a Mk2 estate and will be replacing it with a 2.5S engine but out of a bodily knackered Mk1 estate. I read in previous posts that its easier to remove engine & box from underneath?
I'm reasonably new to Triumphs, so I've never done this job before, so how much of the steering and suspension etc has to be removed to be able to do this? (both cars have power steering) Also, is there anything else I should know?

For reference, the Mk2 is an auto, (but will be converted to manual) and the Mk1 estate is a manual OD.

Many thanks.

Hi Radders

You will need to drop the suspension cross member an inch or so, or the sump will not clear it on the way out, if you're taking it out the top that is which is relatively painless.

I have dropped the body over the engine on a fully stripped car, but in your case, rather than just drop the suspension a little you'd have to remove it altogether. I'd definitely just take it out the top.

Cheers

Darren

I'd remove the auto box(undo bellhousing and slide it off, you can even leave the torque converter on the engine if you like).The 2000 motor will lift straight up out the top and then you can either fit the 2.5 and gearbox complete or as 2 units.I've never needed to undo the subframe etc.I did have a bit of a struggle on the mk1 but only because of the heater box being in the way(fitting the 2.5 not removing the 2000 lump).

Have fun whatever you decide,
Alex :)

Thanks for the advice guys. I have to admit though, I got a bit carried away after writing this post and just 'dived in' anyway. As a result the engine and gearbox have now left the car via the underneath. Not sure i'd do it again on the Mk1 estate though. There just seems a lot more to undo with it coming out from below. (Although you dont need a lot of headroom for the engine crane! ;) )