Engine rebuild advice

thebrookster

Now I know that this has been covered in various other threads, however I am completely new to tuning engines, so I would be grateful if people could humour me here in re-hashing :D

As mentioned in an earlier thread, I am looking at having to replace the clutch in the next couple of weeks, probably with a Borg and Beck. However, since I need to rebuild my engine at some point anyway, and it would make it easier to do the clutch than removing gearbox, I have decided that whilst the engine is out of the car I shall do my rebuild now. Unfortunalty I am running on a fairly limited budget just now, so can only really spare 300/400 quid for this.

What mods can I make to the engine for this type of budget? And more importantly, what benefits will I gain from these mods? I am not touching exhausts or carbs etc (these will be done later in the year when money allows, I am happy running slightly sub-standard for the time being), purely looking at internals such as cam etc (although I appreciate that new carb needles will be needed). What exactly should I be looking at buying? Ideally I wish to increase torque (if that is possible) and basically make the engine perform a lot better for road use. Is it worth getting the block re-bored and skimmed? And if so, what costs am I looking at here? Pistons? I will probably do bearings and oil seals etc anyway, what are the best brands to go for? Is it worth getting any work done on the cylinder head or is that to cost prohibitive? Also, is it worth getting a lightened flywheel?

Is there anything else I should be looking at, and is there any of the above work that I can leave to a later date without requiring a full strip down?

I would very much appreciate any help that people can give me here, and if they have the time to spare I will also be extremely grateful for any explanations etc (aimed at a noob tho :D).

Many thanks,

Phil