Herald 13/60 engine to Spit Mk 3 spec?

timraven

I'm currently rebuilding a GE prefix engine to put in my Spitfire, I do however have a few questions :)

I'm looking to get the engine to Spit Mk3 FD prefix spec, am I right in thinking that only the cam and compression ratio is different? I've found the GE engine has a CPR of 8.5:1 , and the FD a CPR of 9.0:1 . Bearing this in mind, skimming the head should sort that? Any light on how to calculate the amount I need off, I don't know if it's been skimmed before so are there any standard measurements on the head I should do to find out?

I'm going to get unleaded exhaust inserts put in, and probably new valve guides too. Also tempted to get it acid dipped to clean out the waterways. Any other head jobs that an engine place will need to do? I'll do the flow work myself to save on costs.

Are pinto valve seals worth the money?

I'm very new to this, so bear with me :P

Cheers
Tim

Hi Tim-

To go from 8.5:1 to 9.0:1 on a 'virgin' 1296 head on a standard bore and deck block, removing 0.030" will do it.  

I put together a head skim calculator for my own use that you might find handy:

http://www.auskellian.com/paul/links_files/CR%20head%20skim%20calculator_v3.xls

Go to the 1296 tab and input your starting and target values in the blue cells and see the results.    

It's a very very good idea to measure the head volumes before skimming in case the head has already been skimmed.  A virgin 1296 head that started life as 8.5:1 should have a volume of about 37.4cc per head recess.  

One other useful thing about my calculator is you can infer compression ratio from measured head volume (knowing the other contributions to head volume, which are primarily the gasket and deck height).  It's all there in the calculator.

Dipping, die pen and pressure testing are good ideas to make sure the head is sound before investing more in shaving and seats.  I can't comment on Pinto seals-

-Paul

Starman,