Carbon offsetting - ideas please?

I'm not really a fan of just paying your way out of carbon emissions to some faceless organisation so I'm looking for ideas that show a tangible, easy to understand way of offsetting our carbon foot print when we run a RBRR. Whilst all ideas are useful, consider these things:

• It's got to be understandable and relevant to the British public 
  • It cannot raise the entry fee - we need to keep that down to avoid raising the financial turnover of the Club and creeping into VAT registration - so something that crews can buy direct would be preferred
  • It needs to be visible so we can put details on the cars - I am keen that the general public can see that we are taking carbon offsetting into account when they see RBRR cars on the roads
  • Physical projects in the UK we can see, point to and even visit would be preferable - e.g. woodland planting on the Dundreggan estate in Scotland

I'm no expert in this but I thought I'd enlist your thoughts to see what's out there and feed that into the debate.

I use the term "offsetting" but I'm not sure it's entirely the right term, what I want to be able to do is show that we have made amends for the emissions we've created - as well as raised money for Charity (whilst enjoying our cars in the meantime) - if indeed all that's possible!

On 03/11/2021 at 18:53, ferny said:

Would something like this be of interest? 

https://stumpupfortrees.org/

You can watch more about the family here; 

https://www.my5.tv/show/ben-fogle-new-lives-in-the-wild/season-15/episode-2

Yes, that's the sort of thing I had in mind - you can see it working, visit it, even participate. It's not just paying money to some faceless organisation that apparently does something in a far away land that we'd never be able to actually validate.

Hi Jason