lighting.....

kashmir67

Hello folks i'm a newbie to this forum and i'd like some info please.

I have recently bought a very well looked after Herald 13/60 1970. 

My question is how can i improve the headlights brightness? I have seen various heralds with spot lights installed, does this indicate the vehicle would have an alternator upgrade to power them? If that's not the case and the factory installed dynamo powers both then it this the way to go? 

thanks.

The best thing you can do to improve the headlights is to fit a relay - with new wiring - so that the current can flow properly through the existing bulbs. Sealed beams won't ever be as blinding as modern cars but they can be perfectly adequate if they're working as designed.

Second step, if that doesn't give enough improvement, would be to fit H4 halogen units.

Neither of the above involve any more power drain than when the car was new, so the dynamo should be fine.

BIN THE DYNAMO ! An alternator is FAR more reliable. Years back before aternators became common second hand. I was tormented by garbage dynamos and control boxes. Control boxes so much my local autospark shop called me Mr B90.

Edited by Gt6s

Can't say I ever had any trouble with dynamos. I had one bearing fail and one cooling fan disintegrate, over many years and a good few cars. I've certainly had more faults on alternators - brushes, regulators, diode packs. Admittedly I've had more alternator-equipped cars but I don't think the ratio is as wide as the fault history.

I too have had a cooling fan disintegrate, what a bang! Then odd vibrations. . .

I changed the brushes on the dynamo fitted to my 13/60 a couple of years ago and noticed the manufacture date was a couple of months before that of the car (July 1968). Obviously I have no idea how many times over the 50 years of the dynamo brushes, bearings or whatever have been changed. I don't run power consuming extras but do have a large capacity battery and the dynamo more than copes.