Spitfire chassis set-up issues...!

Jerry Mitchell

Hi, I'm a complete newbie to this but I'm hoping some knowledgeable person among you may be willing or brave enough to help me:) I'm using a Spitfire 1500 chassis as the basis for a motorcycle engined road car & have inevitably come up against several issues the latest of which relates to handling problems 😞

I wonder if there is anyone within striking distance of RH16 who would be able to cast an eye over it for me, as I'm running out of ideas?

Front end issues may have been mostly overcome, but the back end certainly isn't behaving as it should, or indeed needs to!

As a follow up I'll see if I can post any photos that may help - that will probably have most of you sending round the men in white coats to sedate me & lead me off to the funny farm! 

I suspect someone with experience of competition build & use may well be able to assist, but I'm open to all offers!

Many thanks, Jerry M.

• Ben Hutchings changed the title to Spitfire chassis set-up issues...!

Hey Jerry, I'm sure someone knowledgable about Spit chassis and handling will be along shortly, but it might also be an idea to see if your local group is up and running again. It looks like the Gatwick Group meet close to you in Crawley. I believe the organiser is @Lesley Connaughton so hopefully they'll see this and confirm! 

It sounds like an interesting project, we'd definitely like to see some photos 😁

Hi, thanks for the response - briefly I have excess negative camber due to lack of weight - (picture stock '78 spit 1500 rolling chassis with Morris Minor Pick-up cab - don't ask! - Triumph motorcycle powerunit - stock diff flipped 180, alloys with 185 x 15's front & 205 x 15 rear - to try & improve contact patch/grip! - exhibiting excess suspension movement during any cornering, certainly not fast!