Spitfire MKIV Restoration Newbie.

LouisW

Hi guys/ girls,

I'm new to the forum, and after browsing through lots of different spitfire threads I thought it was time i took on the one which had been awaiting me for 16 years as it sat on the drive from the time i was born.  

It's a red MKIV Spitfire but it's seen better days. From first glance, the outersill has rusted towards the back of the car and the bonnet/ front wheelarches is also following suit.

The front wheelarches are rotten through and hanging off the bonnet which has been removed from it's hinges from my dad around 5 years ago.

I have purchased a disk grinder and have started to remove some of the surface rust from the bonnet on the front of the car and am thinking about fully removing the and priming/filling where necessary.

I've never done this sort of thing before so i'm looking for advice on just where to start and on what to do. At 16 it's not the easiest task to be undertaking but i've always wanted to do it and i love a challenge!

Any help would be greatly appreciated on tips/ ideas where to start. I know a welder will more than likely need to be used in the future but i just don't really have the skills for that or the funds to purchase one out right at all!!

I look forward to the replies and help for this project that i'm taking on!

Cheers,
Louis.

• Replies 281
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi and welcome.

You said it was sat on the drive for so many years, but are you working on it in a garage now or still outside?
If outside, any bare metal will rust in no time, and you will just get frustrated keep working on the same part.
Unfortunately you will defenately need to switch on a welder in the near future, I would suggest looking at some of the rebuild threads in this section by some of the others to see what you are up against, like mine and wim's for example, plus many others.