Spitfire Mk3 Restoration project - Advice needed

DeanC

Hi, I have a 1968 Mk3 Spitfire - I have owned the car a long time and it used to be my main car 30 years ago.   It's been sitting in my late mum's carport for 30 years - It's a project I've been promising to start for many years.  It's a sizable project as many parts will be seized and/or lightly corroded. 

I am aiming for a realistic restoration, not concours standard, I'd like to keep it mostly original but happy to update/mix parts - in fact I'd already put a Mk4 full syncro gearbox on it

I am comfortable with any/all levels of mechanical work, have all the tools and the spares situation seems better today that it was a few years ago.  However, I have never really done any extensive bodywork and don't have a welder, but have welded (arc) in the past and am pretty good with paint spraying.

I think there are two routes, and I'd like some advice from anyone that has undertaken such a project

Option 1 - Strip the car mechanically and ship the body chassis of to someone that can undertake a body/chassis restoration on a rolling chassis or even non-rolling if that's possible - I can then restore all the mechanical bits

Option 2 - Strip the car mechanically and then undertake the body/chassis restoration myself - There'll be a bit of learning on the way but I'm ready for that

So I'd like advice on Option 1:  Anyone done it this way, any pointers to good restoration companies - Does it work out just too expensive - Or does anyone know a privateer who may be able to carry-out out paid work on-site (in Bromley SE London area)
                                   Option 2: It doesn't seem like rocket science, just a methodical approach (and lots of time) seems reasonable - What welding method would be recommended and any particular equipment makes/models to suggest