Alternator help !

bat

Hi guys, this might be simple for someone to help, and i'll try to explain as basic as i can as im a novice, here goes .........
I have a Lucas alternator on my spit which i now know is an upgrade to the original , maybe because my spit has a 1500 dolomite engine. Anyway my red ignition light is coming on hence the battery not charging. I have noticed on the front of the alternator in the white connection block on the front of the housing to the alternator that there is a white wire off !, in this connection block there are 3 brown wires, a thick brown one in the middle and 2 smaller brown wires either side, then there is this small short white wire that goes down to what i think is earth, because its fixed to a bolted metal plate. My question is where do i reconnect this white wire ?,
as looking at wiring diagrams all these brown wires are positives !
Can anyone help,
cheers guys
Bat

The alternator earth is through the body, and as such there is no earth wire. Your white wire could be either something extraneous a PO has added.
Or it may be the wire for the IG warning light, which would explain why it is on.

From you picture it looks like no wires are connected?!

Hi BAT

The Dolomite 1500 and SPit 1500 used the same Lucas ACR series alternators.  The standard wiring is just the 3 brown wires (one thin and two thick).  The white wire is something fitted at a later date.  Does it go into a small metal cylinder on the metal plate you describe?  If so, it is an RF supressor, fitted to stop the alternator making a crackle/howling noise throught he car's radio.

The red charge light being on will not be anything to do with this white wire.