Tyres For Cobra Supa-Slot Wheels On Mk3 Spitfire

Ludwig

Greetings,

Long-time, no post etc. Have my Triumph mojo back.

So, having coveted a set of slot mag wheels for many years, I've managed to get my hands on some - never fitted, still in the box!

I've had a look around the site and can't find the definitive answer about which size tyres are recommended for these wheels on a Mk3 Spit.

Assuming 175/70/13 are ok, any other sizes recommended for grip/handling etc, without putting the speedo out?

Cheers.

Thanks,

Photo was a bit blurred when trying to read the size etc hence the question.

In the old days of the early 1980's we would fit 165/70/13 tyres to that size of rim and have no problems at all with rubbing.
Today though many favour the 175/70/13, but I've no experience of that size to comment on its suitability.

I had Wolfrace 6J on the front and 7J on the rear of my GT6 Mk2. Steering was heavy, arches on the rear had to be flared but it stuck to the road very nicely indeed. However I have now gone back to the standard 4-1/2J steels and 155/80/13 tyres and I love the feel and handling.

Anything over standard 155/80/13 on the front will give you heavy steering so in my opinion stick with 165. Others will be along soon to comment further

Congrats on your purchase Ludwig.

I've always loved 5-slots, had them on my 240Z, beautiful.  However.....

You may want to confirm that offset before you spend any money on tires.  Generally every 5-slot I've seen on a Spit sticks out way too far up front.  In fact most minilights/knockoffs do that also.

If it is in fact .31" then you have only 8mm offset.  Factory Spits (1500 anyway, but I think all) had 22mm.  That will make your situation even worse.  If it's 31mm, you could be laughing.