Newbie Here - Need to Pump Stag Brakes

ianmowcop

Helo,

I am new to 'classic cars' although I drove them as a young man before the were considered classics!

Jus bought a '74 Stag.
Drives v.well but, the brakes are more effective if pumped once or twice.
If engine at low rev's they are worse.
After pumping once or twice, then released, the sooner the brakes are used again the better they are.

Any ideas please?

Ian

Ian,

Could be two things,  has anyone done anything to the brakes recently? as if they have there could be air in the system. If so you will have to bleed the system to get rid of any air.

The other thing which is more likley as you have recently brought your stag, it may not have travelled many miles over the last few years. If so it can cause the rear brake self adjusters to sieze  through lack of use.  To test, apply the handbrake so that it lightly applys the rear brakes, then test to see if you still have to pump the brakes as before. If by applying the handbrake to take up the slack you dont need to pump the brakes that is where the problem may lie. (The first time you try you may have to pump the brakes, as you need to take up the slack then after it should be fine)

Let us know how you get on

Tina

Welcome to the world of Triumphs
   8)

If you need to bleed the brakes I'll describe the method I was given after nearly 2 litres of brake fluid was used to get an air bubble out.

After fitting new slave units to the rear of my MGB I could not get air out of the system and the brakes had to be pumped to get them to work. I bled them so many times but the air I found out just kept travelling back when the foot pedal was released and not out of the bleed valve.