brake servo

iomgt6

Hi All,  sorry if this has been asked before but I cant understand how an independent brake servo works, I understand how one can work that is linked direct to the brake pedal, secondly my GT6 mk3 is fitted with one, it looks pretty new and I know the seal is ok as I have now removed it and when I opening it a lot of air came out, the reason I removed from car was I suspected it wasn't working as I had done the simple test of starting the engine with foot on brake pedal and felt no difference, the brake pedal always feels firm and requires quite a lot of force but I can lock the wheels up at low speed, also I notice on ebay there are different specs for these units ie 2.3 to 1 etc, what would be most suitable, many thanks Paul

Hi, Im no expert but as you havent had an answer yet thought Id try to help out. The remote servo works very similar to a direct one in that as you press the pedal the brake fluid passes through the pipe to the servo where it moves a shuttle valve/piston which allows vacuum to operate the diaphragm which then pushes on said piston to apply extra pressure to the hydraulic system and on to the brakes. If the servo fails you'll still have brakes but the pedal will need more of a push. The ratio refers to the amount of assistance the servo gives and depends on the weight of the car and also personal preference as you tend to lose a bit of sensitivity as the ratio increases.....

To test the servo you could disconnect the vacuum hose (plugging the manifold connection) and drive it on a straight, clear road to test the braking - no difference = servo not working!