API SF Oil, Smith & Allan

lnpab17

Just bought 4 times 5 litres of Smith & Allan 20W/50 on Ebay as it said in the listing "suitable for cars requiring API SF oil". When it arrived there was no mention API SF on the label, or indeed, any other oil rating, Just 20W/50.
Have I been done? It seemed like a bargain for £46, & API SF is the same rating as Duckhams Q that I have been using for about 20 years, but can't find now.

"If it don't say it on the tin, it don't do it"!

Or am I wrong?

My complaint got a reply basically repeating the listing description, which doesn't prove anything.

As a Power Seller my potential neautral feedback would probably not make it past Ebay.

As always, I suppose it's a case of "buyer beware" & if you can't read the label, assume nothing!

Cheers, Peter.

Yep, that's the stuff!

If it meets an API standard I would expect it to say which one, if any, on the container.

In my experiance, the only oils that don't state the API standard on the container, are the cheapest & lowest quality ones which don't even attain the lowest API rating.

If you have a quality selling point, why wouldn't you proudly point it out on the product label?

Cheers, Peter.

Apparently they get their base oil from Shell & their additives from the Worlds largest supplier, but this doesn't mean their oil has been rated by the American Petroleum Institute as SF, or even SA, SB, SC, SD or SE.

I'm still trying to get to the bottom of it & will keep you posted. Just repied to their email with the following enqiry.
Hi Joe,
Am I right in assuming that this oil has not been API rated, but has been manufactured by yourselves to a standard that you consider to be equal to API SF?
Because of the postal charges it is not economic to return the oil.

For the last 20 odd years I have used Duckhams 20W/50, which clearly states API SF on the container, suggesting that the American Petroleum Institute has tested it & given it this rating.

Yours, Peter Burgess.