Air in the clutch system?

Tom2000

I started having trouble getting into gear as the clutch (despite being pressed) wasn't working properly..

It turned out that I had a leak from the Master Cylinder, I stripped this out and replaced it with a new one, I also replaced the Slave Cylinder for my own piece of mind and the copper wire inbetween the two. All parts sourced from RimmerBros, correct for my car.

I bleed the system, which i've never done before, put all the interior back, started her and found that although better I still had to pump the clutch alot..

I presume this is because I have air in the system still? - Everything is done up correctly and there are no air or fluid leeks anymore..

Yup, sounds like there is still air in the system somewhere along the line, pumping the pedal compresses it and when it is left for a while the air expands again needing compressing again and so on ...

Idiotic checks that I had to make when I replaced all the seals - Is the slave cylinder bolted on with the bleed nipple at the top? Can be bolted on upside down and an air lock can form above the nipple then. Did you keep the clutch depressed when tightening up the bleed nipple for the last time? If you let go of it then it can suck air back into the system. Did the clutch reservoir empty at any time during bleeding?

Probably easiest to just flush a load of new fluid through anyway, won't harm anything and ensures that you have nice new fluid in there, and no air bubbles at all.

Tom,

As stated over, very important that bleed nipple is at the top otherwise you'll never get all the air out. Also as over don't let the reservoir empty, If you do you have to start again!

Bleeding is easy but if you do things wrong then it's easy to end up with a little air in the system, and it doesn't take much...

Make sure you follow this sequence religiously

Open Nipple
Press Peddle all the way down
Close Nipple
Release Peddle
(and repeat)