Hello,

What happened? Did the wipers just stop moving? Have you checked you're getting 12V to the motor when the switch is on?

I'm not an expert but did some work on mine this year. I found that if either of the wheel boxes were jammed (as mine was) the motor didn't have enough torque to move anything. However the motor didn't burn out, which I expected it would have. 

There are also carbon brushes in the motor, which may have worn out or lost enough spring tension to hold them against the commutator. When I dismantled my motor, the tiny spring fell out and was lost, so beware of that if you do take it apart.

See item 4 on the Canley diagram here:

Ha! Well, I'm glad it was a simple fix.

If you ever do need to refurbish the wiper motor, it's not at all a bad job. I did my Spitfire's one last year. The self-parking is the only awkward bit - both the wire that goes through a hole so it needs to be unsoldered for dismantling, and the little rivets that are supposed to make the electrical connection through the cover but have usually rotted away.

One thing Pete's post might mislead on - you should have 12V to the motor whenever the ignition is on - the wiper switch is on the earth side on a Herald or early Spitfire.

Quoted from RobPearce-

If you ever do need to refurbish the wiper motor, it's not at all a bad job. I did my Spitfire's one last year. The self-parking is the only awkward bit - both the wire that goes through a hole so it needs to be unsoldered for dismantling, and the little rivets that are supposed to make the electrical connection through the cover but have usually rotted away.