TR7/8 Brake Rotors/Calipers Q

csopelario

I am very new to TR7s, but chassis-wise, they are similar to the Toyotas I usually am around I have a 76 Toyota Celica liftback).

Me and my brother have finally gotten our father's coupe '76 tr7 (4cyl) up and running. We are looking into brakes. We have already ordered Brembo OEM rotors and EBC green stuff for the front setup and brand new rubber hoses (didnt have the $ for braided).

I have read a few of the posts here and noticed the Capri come up as an option... is this true? direct bolt on rotors or modification required? Can TR8 front disk rotors bolt up to the TR7 (4cyl) chassis - one in the same?

Becasue I have been with Toyotas for a couple of yrs now, I know about a few swappable items from other cars... Corolla AE86-GTS rear shocks/LSD are direct bolt ons with my Celica, front struts from an early 70s carina are direct bolt-ins (with spacers), etc.,... Is there cool swaps (and money saving tactics) I can use on the TR7's suspension, brakes, chassis stiffening?

Oh, I am in Northern CA, USA.

Thank you for the help

--Cat

Hi - there are a few options ranging from low to extremely high cost. They also range from simple to difficult ::)

Our very own TR7 guru (Ellis) has a web site with a projects section - follow this link http://www.triumphtr7.co.uk/projects.html

You can also buy complete kits from companies such as S&S preps in the UK who I use and are very good http://www.ss-preparations.co.uk/index_broadband.htm

There are a few companies in the USA whoa re reputedly very good too - Wedgeparts come to mind = http://www.wedgeparts.com/
Also try this link to the "World Wide Wedge" and their list of suppliers http://www.team.net/TR8/

Finally try this forum run by another Club Triumph member http://www.forum.triumphtr7.com/

There's something for you to be going at. :)