Spitfire 1500 Running problems

jackjonesparkes

Hi guys and gals im new to the spitfire scene so go easy!

Recently bought myself a spitfire that has just been rebuilt by the guy i received it from! tried to take it for a test drive one of the days and the car was really groggy and would cut out as i was slowing down or sat at traffic lights etc. I'd have to restart the car to get it moving again. When driving the throttle response wasn't great and would take a while to catch up.

Weather has been naff since then so haven't had chance to start it or investigate since then but i have done today. Couldn't get her started originally so spark tested all the ignition leads. I believe my NO.1 lead was faulty so swapped it out with NO.2 and she managed to start. After starting however even with full choke out if i took my foot off the accelerator she would slowly bog down and cut out. Is this going to be attributed to the ignition lead only? or after replacing will i need to investigate other things too? I'm not great with fault diagnosing cars but can happily fix them if i know the issue! Any help would be appreciated! 

Jack

You need to check:

plugs are set at 25 thou and clean

all leads are sparking at the plug(plug out ,lead on hold to earth)

is it still points?..If so check,clean, and reset, maybe change condensor

Clean dizzy cap contacts

Remove dash pots and set the jets (by winding up to base and wind back down two full turns,12 flats)

Top up oil in dash pots

.......then start up and check running and tweaking

Quoted from Velocita Rosso-

You need to check:

plugs are set at 25 thou and clean

all leads are sparking at the plug(plug out ,lead on hold to earth)

is it still points?..If so check,clean, and reset, maybe change condensor

Clean dizzy cap contacts

Remove dash pots and set the jets (by winding up to base and wind back down two full turns,12 flats)

Top up oil in dash pots

.......then start up and check running and tweaking