handsup

Hi All,

A newbie to the forum and, well, repair in general.  Thanks in advance for any help or advice anyone is willing to offer!  I'm a recent college graduate who always loved vintage cars and always wanted to keep one up.  My dad grew up with these cars and always worked on them.  Unfortunately I hadn't had the chance to do this with him, so I'm taking to it while I've got the resources and time.  I've sort of dived in head first with a carb rebuild and I've come across a couple of issues that have me stumped.

The car is a 68 GT6 MK1 - US model.  For the carbs, it has this strange mixture of 150CDS emission controls (bypass valve, temp compensator) and fixed needle with adjustable jet (150CD style).  I'm getting some conflicting info as to whether this was spec for the veh, but it's changed hands a few times and my goal isn't to win shows, just learn and enjoy.

The disassembly/assembly was all pretty straightforward (so I think).  But I've got the carbs back on the car and I'm having a couple of issues: