Stuck fast Clutch Pedal

Chrisspit

Hi there I am totally new here so be gentle, for the last 20 years I have owned a 1972 MK4 Spit which has a 1500 dolimite engine in it etc... Sadly since 2000 other things have taken precedent ie Dog kid marriage etc...

The car hasnt been used but started every year and runs fine, just the issue I found when I went to start it last time is that the clutch pedal is stuck absolutely solid. So solid that to push too hard bends the front bulkhead with the pedal assembly.

Firstly I wondered if this was a common issue with neglected cars?
Secondly, Whilst I can doa  few small jobs on my car I am no mechanic and the thought of removing the gearbox would be beyond my skills. So as I cant move the car if it is some thing more serious Does anyone know any good mobile mechanics around to help me get her running again. I am based in Merstham, Surrey.

Thanks in anticipation of your help.

Regards

Chris

it is common for clutch plates to get siezed if not used for years. ive never experienced it, but i think there are ways to 'un-sieze' it without removing the gearbox. maybe starting the car in gear or something? somebody with more experience will know. taking the 'box out, as a few on here know, is something i am quite accustomed with ;D. its just a case of removing nuts and bolts and remembering how they go back together. the 'box comes through the inside of the car. can be done with the seats and carpets in-situ, but easier if the interior is stripped out. again, just nuts and bolts. you will need 2 strong pairs of hands though to bring the box out. even if you can un-stick the clutch, it will probably be wise to re-new it. but at least you could get the car moving.