Dynamo and electrical problems

TimEllis

Hello, I am new to the world of Triumph electrics and I have been really struggling with my Triumph Vitesse MK 1. I have used it for a few weeks and then everything started to go wrong. There was a lot of noise from the Dynamo so I decided to change it. I put a new one on and made sure it was negative earth and fitted it. I started the car and bang the pulley blew up and the dynamo wouldn't stop until i disconnected the battery. I now have no pulley but I can't get the dynamo to stop running. I have had a look at the regulator box which is all clean and fine and I have checked all connections etc. I made sure I put everything back in the same order and photographed everything as I went along. I am no expert and really just thought this would be a simple job but I am really at a loss on what to do. I have read through my manuals but I still can't see where to start and what to do first.

I've just joined club Triumph so I hope to be able to use the car in a London based group or near by.

Any help would be really much appreciated. 

Many thanks,

Tim

Hi, it sounds like theres a problem with the regulator even though youve looked at it as there are contacts which should open and disconnect the dynamo if its output is too low (eg when stationary). At rest two contacts will be closed and this cut out contact open, is that the case?

Many thanks for the reply, I've just got some photographs of the regulator box but i can't upload them. Perhaps if I describe it. There is no rust, the metal tabs on the top move and they are in contact with the metal circular sections. Has it had it? would I be best to buy a new one?

Very best,

Tim

Also, are you absolutely sure that what you took off was a dynamo? There are people who sell "dynamators" - alternators built in a dynamo-look-alike body. If your car has been converted for one of those and you fit a real dynamo to the alternator wiring, then it will act as a motor.