GT6 overdrive worriy

BennyK

Hi,
I've recently purchased a GT6 with J Type overdrive fitted and i'm new to classic car ownership.
It's just come back from the garage after an MOT and I've noticed the overdrive only works very occasionally and only when  in 3rd.
When I collected the car from the MOT the OD switch was left "in".
Presumably the garage drove the car in reverse at some point. Can this harm the OD unit if the switch is left in this position?

Another worry I have is that there's quite a lot of white smoke/steam coming out of the exhaust even when the car has been run at working temp. for a while. Is this normal during cold weather , or does it indicate a problem?

Many thanks,
Benny

Quote:
I've recently purchased a GT6 with J Type overdrive fitted and i'm new to classic car ownership.
It's just come back from the garage after an MOT and I've noticed the overdrive only works very occasionally and only when  in 3rd.

-----This is probably due to worn wiring in the stick. Its only making intermittent contact, and when in 4th gear its being 'pulled' and making no contact. Its a common problem and you need to replace the wiring that runs up the inside of the stick... (tunnel cover off I'm afraid.)

Quote:
When I collected the car from the MOT the OD switch was left "in".
Presumably the garage drove the car in reverse at some point. Can this harm the OD unit if the switch is left in this position?
-----No, so long as the OD inhibitor switch is working properly. It stop OD being engaged in gears other than 3 and 4. Reversing with OD actually on will severely damage the OD unit. So hopefully no harm done in your case.

Quote:
Another worry I have is that there's quite a lot of white smoke/steam coming out of the exhaust even when the car has been run at working temp. for a while. Is this normal during cold weather , or does it indicate a problem?
----Pretty normal in colder weather. I would only worry if it blows 'clouds' of white smoke on revving.