Hugh

Hi all can anyone tell me if will a TR6 2500 cc short end crank will be okay to fit a GT6 MKIII engine please.
I think I will also need 2500cc conrods as well as shell bearings. Are there any other parts I will need.

Cheers Hugh

• Replies 136
  • Created
  • Last Reply

thescrapman wrote:
Are not 2000 and 2500 conrods the same???

Cheers

Colin
Colin  I am not sure I just thought the throw/ lift would be different but I have never done this before so I am not sure :) Do you have any 2500cc conrods by any chance.

Cheers
Hugh :)

cliftyhanger wrote:
conrods the same, pistons different  :)
Hi Clive can you tell me what the difference is please and is that they the only things required to change my GT6 MKII engine to 2500cc spec.
Cheers

It is where the gudgeon pin is located. The position is different between the 2 litre and the 2.5.
Get a set of TR6 pistons.........
and use the 2.5 crank. Job done.

This assumes you have the correct head, in which case you will have the dome topped pistons......
and you take note of the sump modifying (hammer) etc

The only things you'll need to change the engine from 2 to 2.5 are the crank and pistons. The rods stay the same. To accommodate the longer stroke, the 2.5 pistons' gudgeon pins are nearer the piston crowns.

Someone will jump up any minute now and point out that a properly built 2L can produce as much power as a 2.5, and is revvier / more sporting and in character with the car etc. All true but I think you're going the right way Hugh - the 2.5's greater torque makes for easier driving. Roy converted me!

And Tim's car proved that a TR5 camshaft is a good match to the engine - I ordered one from the Brothers yesterday.

Edit - Jeeze I type too slowly. The TR6 pistons will probably be the same size - but check. As for domed... probably. Best to check the compression ratio afterwards though.

Nick_Moore wrote: