Camo

ok I have Sye up and running now albeit on 3 cylinders, I have a problem I can't seem to sort, I have new points, plugs leads, dist cap rotor arm and condensor, the car will run with (back of engine to the front) the 1st, 3rd and 4th leads on the plugs,  but if I put the 2nd lead on the car misfires badly, and then stales! I am a real novice at this so any ideas would be great, I do have a new coil on the way, what could be wrong? what am I doing wrong? Not sure if the ht leads are correct as they were not the same as they were on ym 1963 1200, but it is still the 2nd cylinder that cause problems not the leads.
ps the car has not run for 20 years until this week so I am happy to have 3 cylinders at the moment.
thanks
Stuart

Hi Stuart,
Have you got the firing order right? With number 1 cylinder at the front, the correct firing order is 1,3,4,2. It's not uncommon for the distributor drive gear to be 180 degrees out of phase, but that would be obvious, look for a couple of leads swapped over as a more likely fault.
Other than this you could have a head gasket leak between 2 adjacent cylinders, this should be picked up by aa compression test.
Cheers,
Bill.

Had a guy round earlier who knew more then me, and it seems to be something to do with a sticky valve or some other engine problem rather than ignition, as it really does seem to be number 3 cylinder at fault, it backfires through the carb when the HT lead is attached but is fine when disconnected, could this rectify itself or is it going to cost me big bucks to fix the engine, hadn't factored an engine rebuild into the restoration. Once I have all the brakes replaced and bled I shall take her down to my garage for that compression test.
thanks
Stuart

Hi Stuart,
If you do it yourself it should be fairly painless. A compression gauge is a pretty cheap tool, the one I'm using at the moment cost about £15 - how much does a garage charge to do this test?