willowwisp2

Apologies for all the questions but clearly, I'm new to the Herald.

I'm pretty sure this is not an original carb so, if it's not, what's it from and what's the white plastic doofer on the side?

http://i87.photobucket.com/albums/k138/pipeboy1/IMAG1226_zps004i3lqn.jpg

http://i87.photobucket.com/albums/k138/pipeboy1/IMAG1231_zpspdfiktg8.jpg

The car still runs from a choke cable so don't think it's any auto choke device.

I thought the car was running a little rich but can't see how to adjust the mixture on this as there's what looks like (and I can only see it by photographing it) a castelled type nut on the bottom (last pic). Don't really want to take the carb off to get a better look.

I've got three other carbs that came with the car and they all appear original, (i.e with the jet adjusting nut on the bottom and no white plastic doofer), so are they much of a faff to strip, clean and set up because if not, I might stick one of those on.

Car seems to tick over fine and the plugs are nice and sandy coloured but others commented on it running rich and it did seem a little towards that end.

Cheers.

That looks like a late Stromberg 150CD. It's not the right one for a Herald 13/60 but it's quite similar. The big differences are:
- the white plastic capped long doofer on the side. This is a thermostatic correction valve, similar to the waxstat on late SUs.
- the nasty late Stromberg tuning method requiring a special tool inserted down the dashpot damper hole (and likely to rip your diaphragms if misused)
- possibly (though I can't quite see from your photos) a weird circular enrichment valve for the choke

These carbs were fitted to a lot of cars in the early '70s, including Mk3 GT6s (where there is a pair, only one of which has the choke unit, the other relying on a balance pipe).