Fuel on the C2C

Jos

Just a quick query. I am new to doing the C2C and the only thing that I am concerned about is petrol availability on the run. My car is very thirsty at the best of times and I am only confident of doing about 200miles between refueling. Will there be any information about petrol stations open at night, especially in Wales where petrol stations can be hard to find at the best of times, or should I carry enough fuel in cans for the section between the statutory halt and the finish (which I estimate to be about 250 miles)?

Jos

The route from the Statutory Halt passes Shrewsbury and there are a number of petrol stations there - Esso Shrewsbury is on the ring road and is shown as a 24 hour station so brim your tank there. Its about 150 miles from there to Lampter, (where the routes split) & there are unlikely to be any stations open anywhere near this part of our route.

From Lampter the shortest route to Whitland is 37 miles, and according to Google there is a 24 hour filling station on that route at Windy Corner garage about 10 miles from Lampter. From Windy Corner you should also be able to get back the Cardigan & St David's routes via Pencadar B4459 /  B4336 / A486 and rejoin the A465 at Horeb without losing to much time if you want to complete the longer route.

There are multiple petrol stations in Lampter, Cardigan and Fishguard, but they may not open before 7am.

I find Google Maps is a good way of checking the latest information - to check a particular station, when you click on it it will show you if its open now, but in most cases, besides the times there is a drop down arrow which allows you to see all the opening times every day.

Hope this helps

Edited by Howard
To clarify location of Windy Corner
  • Like 2