New to all this...

Reishtak

Hi guys.  I am new to the world of classic cars, just got a mkIV spit a few weeks ago.  Luckily, I managed to find (and stump up th ecash for) a nice little runner, which is pretty heavily modified.

Anyway, I am really keen to get into the whole track day/event thing, but I have no experience whatsoever!

So, I am after advice and/or a starting point for all this.  Would you reccomend that I just go to an event?  What does this entail (do I need to register beforehand etc?)  Do I need any training / mentoring given the fact that I haven't been racing before.

Basically any advice or tips you can give to a complete newbie would be great - I've got the car booked for some time on rollers in a week or so, so I'm really keen to get the car to somewhere I can watch the world whizz by rather than just watching the speedo....

Ed

Hi Ed,

We at Club triumph take part in a number of Track Days that are organised by the MG on Track (MGoT) people. This year we have been to Cadwell Park and had a ball, an absolutely great track and a very well organised day.

The next one is due at Castle Combe due on 14th July.

http://www.mgs-on-track.com/events/52/castle_combe_-_club_triumph_session_2008

So far 10 have signed up, so we have space for two more.

I can whole heartedly recommend the MGoT events, as I'm sure would other CT members who have attended them. As good a place to start as any, and probably as safe a place as any, to start. You'd be hard pushed to find another track day event where the drivers show as much (if not more) consideration to others' cars, as they do their own.
If you don't fancy jumping straight in; just come along on 14/07 and see how it works. I'd be quite happy to offer you my passenger seat for a session.... not that that'll teach you much about Spitfire driving ??)