Clutch Release Bearings

davehopkins

Hi, Newbie here!

Does anybody know if the clutch release bearing on a dolomite sprint is the same as a Vitesse 2.0  MK1. Is the height the same on both so the travel should be the same?

I have just found out that on my Vitesse it has a dolomite sprint gearbox, O does anybody know where to find Model number on the gearbox?

New second hand engine in and running (thank god) but no clutch. Need some answers!!   :o

Hi, I'm impressed with the quality reply and speed!  It may well be a Dolomite 1850 gearbox, I need to check the serial no / model no, now I know were to look.(thanks). The engine is the 2.0  six cyl, but the gearbox was put on by the previous owner its got the overdrive. The Bell housing does split and when we put in the second hand MK1 2.0 litre we had to use the plate off the original engine as the bolt holes did not line up properly. The problem is that on the original bellhousing it has a lever mechanism on the outside of it and this lever travels to its limit and actually scapes the side of bell housing, so I know its at its furthest point of travel. But the clutch does not even feel like applying pressure through the realease bearing to the spring forks on the clutch. The only thing I can think is to move the postion of the lever mechanism on the spline on the outside of bell housing to get more travel. However, this has been welded on and bloke that I purchased the car from assures me the clutch did work 8 years ago!! So I am reluctant to do this.
Thats why I am not sure about the clutch realease bearing is it travelling far enough?
O, one other cosideration is that we did put in the clutch from the dolomite 1850 (to be confirmed) onto the MK1 2.0 thats now in the car. Is there a differance here between 1850 clutch and Vitesse 2.0 MK2 clutch. The old engine was a mk 2 off a vitesse estate! any ideas ??  :o