AMSQ3D

If the engine originally ran with PI , would fitting a SU HS6 setup be a problem with cam, cylinder head , distributor. Probably guessed, I am new to Triumph engines, at present, I have 4 to choose from, 1600,2000 and two 2,5's. The 2.5 has a gearbox and overdrive, so does the 1600. The car is based on a vitesse chasiss and is rolling,

The answer is no problem, esp. as the 2500 came with both SUs or Pi at various times and models.  You'd need to fit the dizzie from a non-Pi, unless you want to keep the rendundant metering unit there.  And one 2.5 has an O/drive?  Which gerabox?  The 2500 'box is much bigger and needs some fettlign to fit it between the chassis rails, but it can and has been done.  See BinMan's SuperSix: http://www.supersix.50megs.com/

And the 2500 sump won't fit the Vitesse chassis - the 'step' is too far forward.  A 2000 sump with bulges beaten in the clear big ends 1 & 2, with a valley between the clear the steering rack, works fine.

Why not Pi?    There's usually another 10bhp to be got over even HS6s, and consumptuion need not be bad.  Malcolm Jones at Prestige (http://www.prestigeinjection.fsnet.co.uk/) is your man for advice and parts.

Best of luck!
Happy New Year!
John

AMSQ3D,
Vaguely bad form to double post - see: http://club.triumph.org.uk/cgi-bin/blah/Blah.pl?b=2000,m=1167136639
It just wastes everyone's time and goodwill if people offer you advice that is duplicated elsewhere.  Try not to do it.  We're all here to help.  Give it a day or so if you don't a response at first  - we're not all online all the time!

John

I've got a 2.5 sump in my Vitesse. The step is snug behind the chassis, but does clear. I fitted 6mm spacers under the engine mounts to lift the engine enough for the sump to just clear the steering rack. This leaves about 3mm between the front HS6 and the bonnet. No dents due to rocking yet!

Hope everyone has a great Christmas.

Glen.

Glad you've fettled it, Fb.