clutch question

Davemate

1500 --single rail o/box

the box is out and a recon is being sorted (mike papworth)
when i bought the engine and box(about two years ago) the guy said the clutch had only done a couple of hundred miles before the car failed its mot and he decided to brake the car for spares i have had no reason to dought him as all the other bits were as described if not better.
yes i know the box has just let go, but then i have been giving it large and for two years the box has been very quite until a few weeks ago

so looking at these pictures would/should i replace the clutch
the release bearing will be relaced as on the odd ocasion it does squeek

can you tell if the plate is worn by this pic

the input shaft on the box has a bit of movment in it so the bearing in the box has gone pop
will the spigot bearing in the flywheel need replacing

if it does need replacing does it just pull out or is it flywheel off first

How worn are the fingers?

How loose/worn does the release bearing feel?

Spigot bushes don't tend to wear to much, you would have to take it out to see how worn it is.

How many miles have you done with that engine/gearbox?

Do you want to put the replacement gearbox in, only to have to change the clutch in a few months time because you did not renew it now?  :-/

You have got this far dave so take the clutch assem off and inspect the clutch components...the plate springs take a bashing, the rivits can get loose and and the clutch cover can crack, unseen unless removed plus fingers wear at the release bearing ....you know you want to really.. :P
The spigot bearing is a tough bush not a roller/ball bearing btw.
For re-assembly the clutch alignment tool is a must buy too, a plastic dummy input shaft for a couple of quid ;)

Dont forget the clutch release fork pivot pin and bushes, just fit new.... and the clutch cylinder push rod and pin too, a few quid, about a tenner if that, well spent while the bellhousing is out.