Whining sound when power is applied

samwhite95

Hi All,

Sadly I'm relatively new to actually driving classics as I've spent quite a few years ground-up restoring a herald project that unfortunately never got completed (other commitments) and decided now life has settled down almost 10 years later, I would get back into the hobby. So very familiar with triumph's but not so familiar for what to listen out for!

From what I can see from the engine number (starting in YC) and notes left by previous owner who installed the new gear who was 2 owners previous and passed away which separated all the history of the vehicle, I believe my vehicle is running a entire rear wheel drive Triumph 1500 drive chain from engine to diff as it has syncho 1st and some writing on a notepad included with the car says 3.89:1 Diff. 

When I apply power to the car when moving, there is a mid range (around 300-400Hz) noise that doesnt seem to come from a specific place, I can hear it from all directions in the cabin, ontop of the engine noise. If I drop the clutch at speed, the noise disappears, likewise if I take my foot off the accelerator it stops immediately. The only 'clue' I have is a small leak I spotted on the diff when I got the chance to look under the vehicle when it was on the lift at my local garage. Is this sort of noise indicative of an oil-less diff? Aside from that I cannot hear any clunky, bumpy or grinding noises in any of the stresses of driving, I've even tried to suddenly apply power in an attempt to rule out any slop at the back end.

I plan to add some oil to the diff ASAP along with some stop leak for the time being whilst I work out if I need to take it out or replace, is there a brand of oil that is recommended? Is this the best course of action, and are there any other tests I can perform to find the root cause? Or is this just a normal sound for a classic car?

Many thanks in advance!

Sam.