Electrical drain

Jonny-Jimbo

Hi all,

One of 'moderns' has developed an electrical drain... What is the best way to try to identify it? Disconnect the battery at the -Ve lead and use a voltmeter to see what the draw is (if any), then pull fuses until it drops to zero? Or leave the battery on and use a voltmeter across all the fuses to see what's flowing?

I’m no electrician, but think you need to measure the current draw across each fuse with an ammeter, rather than volts. Something might leap out as obviously sucking current.  It’s not simple on a modern as some circuits continually draw a little, like alarm, and some take up to 30 minutes to go to sleep after stopping.
But check the simple first? Anything you’ve fiddled with recently or has been acting strangely?  Are you sure the interior/ boot/ glove box lights go off when closed?

Went through this recently on my Merc, turned out to be the alarm siren unit in the whelarch: internal rechargeable batteries within had died and leaked, eating up the circuit board and shorting, trying to continually sound a non functioning siren..
Killed the battery and locked me out with no functioning keys. What a game that was..
Hope yours is simpler.

JJ, if you disconnect the battery there will be no volts to draw or drop!
And disconnecting the battery on moderns can cause problems with alarms etc.
Might be better to use the resistance mode, with a lead on the earth terminal, and probe the circuits looking for a low or earth.  Trouble there is knowing what the various circuit resistances should be.

To measure current needs the multimeter to be in continuity, which means breaking the circuit to do so, unless you buy a clamp meter, that puts a loop around d the wire to measure by induction.  But they are costly:  
https://www.screwfix.com/p/kew.....znu9cCFSSJ7Qod_74D5w

John

Current clamps are good but they tend to be designed for much higher currents than you're probably looking for.