Swiss Tony

A year ago I remember boasting that the front brake pads on my Picasso had lasted 92K miles.  I replaced them, and the new ones have lasted 9K!

I prefer the concrete ones that were there before rather than the buttery ones I replaced them with, and as I need to do the job again, does anyone know a decent brand that will last a bit longer?  The 'Countrylife' pads just are not up to the job.

I assume someone will also suggest I replace the disks while I am at it.  

Swizz

• 2 weeks later...

Thanks for the advice.  Haven't got round to sorting anything out yet because I have more Bar exams this weekend and its been raining!

As I am studying, I am not using the car either, so it will have to wait a bit longer yet.

I think the last set were Mintex, but the disk was well dodgy, grooved and worn down on one edge, sloping by about 2mm from the centre to the outside, so I should be so harsh on the pads.  It wasn't all their fault.

Swiss

I have used Apec pads on a handful of different vehicles. In my experience they initially have decent bite and don't wear too quickly. However, after a few thousand miles I found they change their charactreristics, becoming rather less effective as they get glazed.

Cheers,
Bill.

Most modern cars have very hard pads to extend the service intervals and the discs suffer badly as a result.  I've found on the various VWs and Audis we've owned over the last 15 years that you usually have to replace the discs with the pads.  Lucky they last 60 - 70K usually.

Nick

Nick_Jones wrote:
Most modern cars have very hard pads to extend the service intervals and the discs suffer badly as a result.  I've found on the various VWs and Audis we've owned over the last 15 years that you usually have to replace the discs with the pads.  Lucky they last 60 - 70K usually.