Check your hoses! Fuel hose warning

Nick Jones

Fuel hose is a bit of a tricky subject at present.  Ethanol content in modern fuel does definitely affect fuel hose rubbers and can lead to either outright failure or strong fuel smells without any actual visible leakage (permeation).

Some countries (Oz and USA for example) are on top of this and have legislated to define fuel hoses fit for use with modern biofuels or fuels with a bio component.  UK has not so your local motor factor will sell what ever they like (or Gates tells then they should sell).

My local factor sells Gates generic "injection hose".  It allows permeation (strong fuel smells) and goes hard after a few months which I discovered when EFI'ing my PI.

There is an SAE standard, J30, which defines fuel hose types and this recommends "R9" as being suitable for ethanol containing fuels.

I've been buying this for a few years, usually from Advanced Fluid Solutions in Kent.  However, I've recently noticed that this stuff suffers serious cracking after only a couple of years.  It's a two layer hose and the cracking seems to afflict mainly the outer layer so I've not had any actual leakage but it's only a matter of time I reckon.  Not sure whether this is a general "R9" issue of if the stuff from this supplier is rubbish.

I've actually had better results using the older "R6" hoses which I used for years on the Vitesse before "upgrading" to R9.  This time though I've swapped all 8 sections of flexi-hose in the fuel system to Cohline 2240 which is supposed to be good for ethanol up to E15 and even bio-diesel.  We shall see......

Check your hoses - A friend recently reported a scare with his E30 320i with fuel pissing from a split in the high pressure feed hose all over the alternator.......  Hose was renewed less than 3 years ago.  How a fire was avoided I have no idea 😲

Nick

Quoted from JensH
This spring ... in Denmark...
http://stiften.dk/alarm112/Met.....sskov/artikel/450819