Trackday driver's advice

Raider

Not being a trackday driver I wondered what you regulars thought of this

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=xxrFiAzeYTE

This is the type of rally we will be doing first and quite possibly this particular one which is at Three Sisters race circuit

I know it's not the same as there's not the chance to hone your performance on the track lap after lap but is there any advice you could offer me as a driver? Smoother, approach sweeping corners ina particular way?

Martin,

Probably an idea to have a go at the CT trackday at Cadwell?

Chris Shaw is very well versed in this events, so may be an idea to have a chat with him. Not sure smooth driving is gonna be easy on an event like that. Reckon the co-driver is more important than the driver. That nav. in the youtube film was seriously good.

Hi Martin - I've done lots of trackdays in the Subaru but none in either of the Spitfires. However, the principles are the same.....

Smoothness is the key, use all the track, brake in good time. Remember slow in, fast out. It's very easy to get over-exuberant, leave braking too late and consequently have to brake too heavily. This will work for a while but as soon as you cook the brakes (which you will) you are knackered - you must slow down to let them cool and you'll lose 10 times more time than you gained. You have to drive within your braking performance.

If you are one of the lower powered cars, smoothness and keeping momentum is key. Try not to allow understeer too much - it will remove the front outside edge of your N/S tyre (assuming it's a clockwise circuit) in a few laps. If necessary, do a sort of "mini scandinavian flick" to load the suspension on the light side; this helps reduce understeer. Don't overdo it, just a merest touch is needed; too much and you just unbalance the car.