After-market electric fuel pumps

32valves

I've been using an electric fuel pump on the Sprint for a few years now (replacing the standard mechanical pump). It's made by FAI and supplies fuel at 2 - 3 psi, 90 litres per hour. Since changing over to 2" SU's, occasionally under really hard use the car has spluttered a bit leading me to suspect that the pump isn't supplying fuel fast enough. If I assumed my car gets down to about 5 mpg running flat out in top gear, ~120mph, that equates to about 24 gallons per hour which is higher than the pump output (90l/hr = ~19.8gal/hr). The fuel consumption is likely to be similar or higher in the intermediate gears too so it looks like I need a new pump. Does this sound right ?

Anyway, I've been looking at other after-market pumps, particularly Facet. There seems to be two types, the 'cube' type and the 'cylindrical' type. Apart from price what are the relative merits of these ?

Carl. Does it happen on a straight road or is it when coming out of a bend.  I've had all sorts of problems with what I thought to be fuel starvation issues.  Turned out to be mostly flooding problems.  If it is on the straight after a long period of full thottle then fuel starvation is likely.  The first thing to do is change the needle valve for the hi flow completion type. ( the hole is a lot bigger and therefore can flow more fuel.). If the problem happens after the car has been cornering hard then you may need to change the position of the floats. This is done by moving  the float lid round.   My car would always have problems on fast hairpin bends or when doing autosolos.  I after much messing around traced it to the above float problem.  Repositioned the float lids and I've never had a problem sinse.  

Cheers for the replies chaps.