Oversized pistons

npanne

Okay guys (and girls) - it's time for my stupid question of the week...

Is it safe to assume that if pistons were oversized replacements, it would be stamped on the top face?

I know that they were on an old Spit engine that I stripped down (quite obviously said +0.30), but I'm no expert, and now I'm keen to find out what I've got in my GT6 engine. I haven't got round to properly stripping the block down yet, but with the head off and the piston faces cleaned up a bit, I can't see anything to suggest that they're oversized. There are a couple of markings, but nothing that stands out.

Thanks guys
Neil

Cheers Clive - I figured that was the case, but didn't want to assume anything. Hoping to get away with a cheap and cheerful rebuild for the time being (ie re-use the pistons, clean the bores without re-boring them out etc). Just change the bearings and seals - and possibly the rings if any look damaged when they come out.

One other thing - how do I get the cam followers out? is there an easy way to do it?

Now to turn the thing over and get to the bottom end....

I find a finger in an oily follower gives enough suction to pull it out--usually.
If not wait until you get the cam out. Do not forget to number the followers. Very important.
And do use new rings, I believe thay bed in better than used ones. Not had any issues when honing/reringing engines. And get decent bearings for the crank, money well spent!

Yes you can! If they are difficult to remove, once the pushrods are out turning the cam and a bit of wiggling gets them far enough up to clear the jornals and dizzy drive. At least when I have done it.