1967 MkIII

Evening all

This winter I'm going to restore my Spitfire wihich mostly means new outer panels as the existing ones are either rusted through or dented in many areas. I'll get a pro to do serious bits like sills etc but I'm wondering how panels are spot welded together to see whether I can do it myself. I've some experience with arc welding but so far I've only done fairly chunky iron bits for home or garage projects.

Can I use an arc welder on a lower setting or is a different type of welding used?

Any tips appreciated as always!
Thanks
Steve

Arc welders are generally far too brutal for panel work. Best option for home/DIY is MIG. Lots of info here: http://www.mig-welding.co.uk/

Gas is still an option of course -- but probably not the best for home/DIY these days for safety reasons.

Edited to add - if you're familiar with Arc welding you should be able to get up to speed with MIG welding no problem.

Hello Steve,

yes you are right, Metal Inert Gas, the gas shields the weld from oxygen. Bill is referring to oxy\acetylene gas welding, which is a very good method of welding car panels. More expensive equipment and probably harder to learn?

Alec

You can buy electric Spot Welding machines to do this Steve.  Have a google or go to Machine Mart etc.  They make a very neat job and not too hard to use.  Downside is the factory would have had ones with very long arms to reach all the bits of the car they needed to, and the hobby ones might be a bit limited!  Not sure how many folks would own one?