Camshaft options for 2.5 engines??

Matt George

Afternoon all,

I've got a few queries regarding camshafts, and hopefully some of you can help shed some lights on the merits of different profiles etc.

After rebuilding and 'hotting up' a 2500TC motor to go into my saloon, my dad has now been bitten by the modifying bug, and is considering some changes to his standard ex-US TR6.

We junked the 307621 cam that was originally in my 2500 unit, in favour of a 308778 PI cam, so obviously I now have the former going spare. So my question is this - would the 307621 be any better in a CC TR6 than the 311399 cam it has in at the moment?

I've checked the cam information chart on Chris Witor's website, which gives the following details: 307621 is 10/50 and.215", while 311399 is 18/58 and .240". I'm no techie, but hopefully some of you guys that are can help with this one?  :)

Cheers,
Matt

Richard_B wrote:
Well it would be an improvement, has his TR6 got the emission specced head and exhaust manifold?  ??)

If so I would dump those asap!   :)

Replace with a UK 2.5S head or a PI head and exhaust manifold of your choice.

or a late GT6 head ;) ;)

Richard_B wrote:
Well it would be an improvement, has his TR6 got the emission specced head and exhaust manifold?  ??)

If so I would dump those asap!   :)

Replace with a UK 2.5S head or a PI head and exhaust manifold of your choice.

Hi Richard,

The car is all original I believe. The inlet manifold looks the same as the long branch version on my car, while the exhaust looks standard TR6 to me. Skimming the current head is an option.

Forgive my ignorance, but please could you elaborate on exactly why the potential replacement cam would be an improvement?

Thanks,

Matt

I've checked the cam information chart on Chris Witor's website, which gives the following details: 307621 is 10/50 and.215", while 311399 is 18/58 and .240". I'm no techie, but hopefully some of you guys that are can help with this one?,   you say

you ask