Classic auto electricians

Spider

As I am having an enforced career change (long story and life's too short) I was thinking of starting up as a Classic auto electrician. I have a workshop with ramp and soon to have a large camper/mobile workshop van. I have been a radio communications technician for over 30 years with many of those years fitting radio/data communications systems into a variety of different vehicles.
What I am trying to research is the demand for such a service for classic vehicles be it road or agricultural. Motorsport and kit cars is also a consideration, possibly at a later date.
Your thoughts, ideas and suggestions will be taken in good taste (where's Smithy when you need some risque humour)  

I look forward to reading your responses.

many thanks

Spider

hi spider,
i would say "go for it" around my way (north shropshire) there is a great demand for agricultural electricians. as i was in the motor trade (before ill health bit me) i am always getting asked if i know anyone good with electrics? not so much though on classic cars
my 1st rule of going it alone, is dont get into "debt" many people do and fall down.
it worked for me so best of luck.

regards,

tony.

Classic electrics are pretty simple to understand and work on......apparently!
Not my experience  though I hate them I bet there's loads of people on here that would pay for things like having relays put in for their lights and such like.
Trouble is with our cars being relatively low value is cost of paying 'experts'.

If you go for it ....and I'd say it's got to be worth a go,why not change your signature too include your service,location and contact info?