MarthaC

Hello Marthac,

are you sure your steering is in good order as I wouldn't have thought that power steering is a requirement for a Herald?  Underinflated tyres are another cause of heavy steering.
Be aware it is not an easy task as the steering geometry will likely be compromised and other modifications to the steering arms and rack location may be necessary. There is the option of electric power steering, I believe, but I have no experience of it?

Alec

I have to echo Alec's comments, Herald steering should be light and direct. As well as underinflated tyres, heavy steering can be a sign of vertical link damage or problems within the steering rack.

Before jumping into a power steering conversion, which may turn out to be a substantial can of worms, ensure that your current setup is comparable to other Heralds. Do you have an area group with other Herald owners?

Cheers,
Bill.

thanks for all your thoughts...yes I am fitting electric power steering to it, I found this on ebay;

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/281257794512?ru=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.ebay.co.uk%2Fsch%2Fi.html%3F_sacat%3D0%26_from%3DR40%26_nkw%3D281257794512%26_rdc%3D1

just wanted to see if anyone had done this yet haha

Yes, it has been done before.  I saw a Vitesse with an MGF electric column at the Thornfalcon show last year.  There are some pictures of a conversion being done on a Spitfire on this forum too.  They are buried in a lengthy build thread and might take a bit of finding.

I have to say that I'm surprised you feel the need in a Herald. One of the joys of a Herald is is it's light and direct steering as standard.  I have a Herald rack in my Vitesse, with wider than standard tyres and still don't find it necessary.