Sprint engine advice/save Raider's RBRR entry

Raider

Ladies and gentlemen - you may be aware that the engine of BRP 285S is defunct (pressurising and blowing oil out the dipstick).

This means that with 3 weeks to go to the RBRR it is unlikely the car will make it :'(

I do have a spare £75 e-bay Sprint engine and have taken a look at the bottom end this afternoon.

I have never heard the engine run but it does turn freely.

Anyway, any thoughts on the attached picture - the bearing looks OK to me but I am a novice so any thoughts?

In addition, a crazy idea has come to me (Mrs Raider's idea actually).

Would anyone fancy joining me for an engine swap over on BRP next weekend ??) We would be happy to offer barbeques, beer and space to pitch tents in our garden. Could be a laugh or then it could be the worst idea ever ;D

• Replies 141
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Clutch is no problem - the engine is the same block.

Exhaust? I have a Sprint tubular manifold and the exhaust after that is the same as the TR7 sports exhaust I have fitted.

Carbs are a bit of an issue - they are the same but the inlet manifold is different (set further apart). Again I have one complete with carbs and linkage plus the reconditioned carbs I already have on the TR7 now so that should be fixable too.

No difference with regards to radiator etc tho may well need some hoses etc.

The thing is, if it's on then I'll have to hire an engine crane and get whatever other spares S&S advise this week.

Martin, I'd go for it! Only other thing to remember is swap the engine back plate if your sprint lump is from a dolly not a '7, otherwise the clutch slave cylinder won't fit... And the water transfer housing on the back of the head will need changing (if it's not already been in a '7), combined with the pump cover outlet and inlet manifold water connection (all 1/2")  ....Could be worth pulling the water pump too as the seals are likely to be weepy if it's sat for a while...