First time for everything....

Hi,
Total newbie here. Just joined CT, hopefully to with a view to doing RBRR in 2010. My name is Allen Walker, some of you will know me as the Triumph 2000 Register webmaster.
Have already had some advice from Alan Chatterton regards my crew, and have totally ignored it. He suggested a crew of three, but it's going to be just me and the missus, Lynn.
I have a '76 2500S.
Just wondering a couple of things. How much can I expect to lay out for fuel, and what other costs are involved, just to help me set my budget?
Cheers
Allen

Allen

Fuel - If your car does 30mpg (My Mk1 PI did) then it is about 70 gallons, at £5 a gallon, so about £350. Or buy a Mk2 PI off ebay like Tom Key did and get 15mpg, mortgage your soul to the devil and feel the pain for months afterwards. It will hurt.

£75 ish a person entry.

Depending on where you live, budget a night in a hotel sunday night.

TAke 3 people the first time you do it, 2 is not enough for some people. We had 5 across 2 cars. That worked.

Budget on a couple of packets of biscuits and some coffee stops.

Something to quell the nerves after seeing the floor show at Lancaster services is also essential.... :-)

Cheers

Colin

I reckon two will be fine in a saloon - it's like the round britain sofa run in a saloon :)

(not to say, it's not an accomplishment - i felt the same "relief" as the previous two runs in small chassis cars as I did in the big saloon)

Allen,

First off, welcome to Club Triumph.

Traditionally the start and finish is always The Plough, it will be in 2010.

Last time the total mileage for the suggested route was 1950miles, I want to push it up to 2000miles.