Overdrive virgin

Bwhitmee

Ok, you are going to roll your eyes at me but I’m new to owning a GT6 Mark II and trying to understand the overdrive. Do I use it like a 5th gear? I keep forgetting to disengage. What Damage am I causing if do the following:

1. Forget to disengage when I come to a halt and then switch it off before pulling away in 1st gear?

2. Forget to disengage as I drop down through the gears?

3. Pull away in 1st with overdrive still engaged?

4. Use reverse gear while Having overdrive engaged?

Thanks!

Hi, if your OD is wired correctly it should have an inhibitor switch that cuts it out in any gear selection except 3rd and 4th. This means that you cant do any damage whatever you do.

Most people use OD to reduce engine revs when cruising at higher speeds and also as an aid to overtaking where the car can be kept in 3rd +OD and then dropped out of OD when the opportunity to overtake arises....  

The OD is cutting in and out depending on the inhibitor switch but you wouldnt notice as you change, for example, from third to second. However its bad practice to use it like this because its not recommended to accelerate hard with the OD engaged and this is more likely to happen if not controlling it with the manual switch.

I have O/D in my 2500.. Personally, I use it as a 5th gear. i.e. disconnect it with the switch when changing down and only engage it when I 'm going fast enough to need "5th gear" . But that's me , others have their own methods. As long as the inhibitor switch is working and you can't engage it in reverse you should be fine.

Tony.

Quoted from Bwhitmee-

Thanks for that. So theoretically I could keep it in OD most of the time and only drop out of it when needing the revs to pull away or overtake...?